The Science of Yoga

Your Challenge: Discover the science behind practicing yoga! Yoga


An open space where you can move freely without danger of hitting anything

A mat (optional)

Here’s How:

Please perform these next physical exercises with caution and the knowledge of your risk and own ability.
1. Easy Pose

Sit in a criss-crossed position with your legs, back straight, and backs of your hands resting on your knees. Practice breathing deeply or breathing exercises for added benefit.

2.Tree Stand

Balance poses help to focus your mind. Start standing, then lift your right leg to the inside of your left thigh. Bring your hands into prayer position and once you are properly balanced raise them out above your head. Hold and breathe. Then repeat for the other side.

  1. Downward Dog

Start on hands and knees then place toes down and straighten legs, straightening arms as well. Focus on pushing hands into the floor and breathing.

4.Warrior II

Start standing, then step your feet apart about four feet. Turn out your right foot and then the left slightly. Bend your right knee and raise your arms parallel to the floor. Look out over your right shoulder. Hold and breathe. Repeat for the other side.

5.Child’s Pose

Start sitting on your knees, bend at your waist until your belly rests on your thighs and your forehead on the floor. You can place your arms out in front of you or at your sides. Breathe deeply.

Take It Further:

Trying doing some of these yoga poses once a day. Do you notice a change in your mood or do you feel more relaxed?

How It Works:

Scientists have conducted testing that now leads them to believe that yoga has a measurable effect on our nervous system. They believe that their research now shows not only yoga’s relaxation benefits but also that it causes the body to release feel-good hormones like serotonin.

Fun Facts:

  • The word for “yoga” comes from the Sanskrit root “yuj” meaning to yoke or join together. This refers to the idea of the consciousness being yoked or joined together with Supreme Spirit [Resource]
  • It is believe that each person has eight chakra’s going from the base of their spine to the crown of their head. They are called Mooladhara, Swadhisthana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddhi, Ajna, Bindu, and Sashara.
  • Yoga is not a religion but claims to be a way of life that focuses on spiritual and physical self-realization [Resource]


Related Careers:

Psychologist, Biologist, Doctor, Neuroscientist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.